Minor car accident (not at fault) – should I go to my insurance or small claims court?

Minor car accident (not at fault) – should I go to my insurance or small claims court?

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. Last week I was involved in a minor car accident. I was at a stop light and the car behind me decided they could not wait and they tried to get by my car to make a left turn. They did not have enough room and scraped against my car with theirs. No one was hurt and no police were called. We pulled over and I got their name, phone number and address. They did not give me their insurance information and said they’d like to settle outside insurance because there are only scratches. I know it was stupid but I said okay. Also I do not have the license plate number of the car. I thought I wrote it down but I did not (I understand this is a big mistake on my behalf). We made contact over phone throughout the week and discussed repairs but suddenly they stopped answering my calls. I believe they are avoiding me. Now I am at a loss of what to do. Should I take this issue up with my insurance (at the risk of raising my premiums) or should I take this to small claims court? In either case I do not have the car’s license plate so if it isn’t their car will that be insufficient evidence to prove they are at fault (my word against theirs)? Thank you in advance for all your answers.

ANSWER: I recommend that you try this web page where one can compare quotes from the best companies: http://insure-cheap.info/index.html?src=WP2glicriamolobmoa

RELATED FAQS:
Why do liberals believe private insurance companies shouldnt profit from their services?
Are they supposed to just work for free?

Cost of colposcopy without insurance?
I just had a Pap smear and received a letter in the mail that said I have atypical squamous cells of undertermined significance and HPV. I’m so sad and scared. They want me to do a colposcopy with a possible biopsy. Wondering what the cost is without insurance. What happens after this procedure how will the abnormal cells be treated?

I am selling my car while the insurance is about to expire.?
Hi guys thanks for your answers, i just went to the online short term insurance providers’ website and tried to get a quote, but as a new licence holder and the car is really big saloon, short term insurance for 14 days will be over 550, what should I do? really upset.:( Can I just leave the car on driveway and when some one is coming for viewing I get a daily insurance or 3 day insurance? So expensive!"

Insurance.?
Does anyone know how much SR-22 Insurance Costs?

Home & Car Insurane?
What insurance company combines Home and car insurance i want to pay them together

Buying first car?
My friend wants me to help her buy her first car. What is a good car for around $3000 with good gas mileage and won’t break down all the time. She is not concerned about looks or speed but if possible can you tell me a car that has at least a little style.

"Crashed car into the bushes, would basic insurance cover it?"
My car brakes gave up on me and i crashed into the dense bushes. The police didn’t even write a report since, as they said, it was no fault of my own and i had no injuries. Since i didn’t hit anybody or anything but the bush there was no fine for me to pay. I don’t know how big is the damage to the car since it happened on a saturday evening (i’ll have it checked out tomorrow), but the front looks bad. I have basic Florida insurance, and i just want to know if they would cover it before i call them. If they don’t cover it i’d rather just get it fixed without having my insurance rate go up. So… since it was not my fault (there were witnesses who saw i did everything possible to get the car safely off the road) would it cover at least part of the expenses?"

My car insurance policy was cancelled due to non payment can my vehicle be towed?
i found myself in a tight position and was unable to pay my car insurance and it was cancelled i curently have no insurance …can my vehicle be towed?

Is a 2000/2001 BMW 323ci an expensive car to insure?
I know insurance costs depend on a number of factors, but, all that aside, does anyone know if this car is expensive to insure? (or any of the other higher up 3 series like the 330ci )"

What medical insurance company does Safeway use for its employees medical benefits?
What medical insurance company does Safeway use for its employees medical benefits?

Motorcycle Insurance?
Ive been trying to find online quotes but am unable to (don’t know why, but they cant give me a quote online). Anyways I was just wondering what insurance company would you recommend for motorcycle insurance? I want to buy a bike, I don’t have my M1 (because I don’t want to take the test before getting the bike), and obviously I’ve never taken the motorcycle course. Yea I know it would be hard to get a quote given that I have zero riding experience or licensing but cmon do you really expect me to get my license only to have it expire in 90 days without even having a bike yet? Anyways when you started out what kind of insurance were you paying and with who? Also is 600cc pushing it? will that screw me over for insurance? I was looking into getting a honda 600. Thanks!"

Car Insurance Question?
OK, so Im taking my test soon, and I was wondering if I could do this. As a result of my gender, my insurance would be considerably high; up to 6,00 to be exact. However, if I insure my car on provisional licence, it would cost LOTS cheaper. But, if I do this now, and pay for this provisional licence"" cover"

I am 18 and car insurances are too fukcing high (UK)?
hello, my first car will be a peugeot 1007 and most of the quotes offer me 5000 pounds which is a super joke because its impossible for me to afford it and also my mom. I’ll be the first one to drive in the family and we badly need a car soon because its so hard to carry a 100 kg. sack of rice for 3 miles from the shop to the train station from the train station to our house with a return ticket. plus also, my mom’s been cycling to her work for almost 10 years now and she’s getting old and the least i could do is drive her to work. 1.) so my question is, why is this rule or law so much biased and stereotyped against the youth? isn’t it time to change our perspectives, to be quite frank the youth of today are a lot more intelligent than the previous generations. 2.) why are car insurance companies and the UK government such a dick? 3.) why aren’t there any activists protesting about these prices? that’s all thank you."

Will your auto insurance cover any licensed driver?..?
Will your auto insurance cover any licensed driver?

Which companies insure homes that have had water damage claims?
Which companies insure homes that have had water damage claims?

What is average increase in car insurance rates after you get a speeding ticket?
Ausome that this is the persons second ticket and they cannot go to traffic school to erase the ticket

Why do teen girls get cheaper car insurance than men?
I see teen girls driving like. Morons all the time. I’ve also witnessed many women drivers texting their phone, not once have I seen a male driver texting their phone. It’s not ******* fair that I almost get totaled because this teen girl at are school accelerates when I go into her lane forcing me to swerve back into mine to avoid being hit? Just yesterday I was driving my MG down the road and this teenage girl in her big Ford pick up texting while taking up both lanes by driving in the middle to drive down a road making me have to take my car off the road to avoid a collision. So how is it fair that I me, a seasoned male driver of the age of 18 have to pay far more in insurance than teenage drivers who have no since of awareness?"

Why is Auto Insurance in Quebec cheaper? And how do I go abouts changing my insurance to Quebec?
I’ve been told insurance in Quebec is much cheaper. I know a few friends that live there can I change my license address to Quebec then seek insurance over there? Im getting sick of paying 400+ in Ottawa.

How much do you think my first year of insurance would cost with a v8 engine as my first car in new york?
If i am 16 how much (average) would my first year of car insurance in New York cost if i get an 8 cylinder 5 speed car?

Health insurance question?
Does a Health insurance company have to pay benefits to a non-contracted lab if the person went to a contracted facility for services? We were told there was a court ruling on this and just wanted to verify.

"If I start working, will my insurance get taken away?"
I’m currently a junior in high school and recently got hired for a opening job position. I receive free health care and my mom is unemployed and is receiving disability benefits. If I take this job, will my health care and my mom’s benefits get taken away? Will it affect me or just my mom or both of us? My parents said that if I make money, it will have to be included in the family income and if we exceed a certain amount, then all of our benefits will be taken away. Does anyone have any insight on this? I’m not sure how many hours I will be assigned to work if i take this job, but it is minimum wage and they do limit high school students to work a limited number of hours."

Why do liberals believe private insurance companies shouldnt profit from their services?
Are they supposed to just work for free?

Do insurance companies cover a chiropractor after an accident?
i was rear ended and had to see a chiropractor because of severe whiplash. the insurance company of the girl who hit me is offering a settlement and almost half of it will be going to pay for the chiropractor bill. is this right? why wouldnt health insurance cover this, or why would i have to pay for it out of my settlement when it was not even my fault?"

RMSCO Health Insurance?
I have been with my boyfriend for almost 9 years now. We have been living together for about 7 or 8. We are not married and live in New York state. Does anyone know if I can be covered on his RMSCO health insurance? (Domestic partner). I have searched the net and the website, but can’t seem to find a real anwser. Do the employers who offer the insurance get to make that choice? Is anyone familiar with RMSCO?"

Car insurance prices 4 ex

Leave a comment